Roys Peak

20170317_151011

Day 36   Wanaka

I wake up to another glorious day, sun is shining and the stunning view over Lake Wanaka. I’ve really only got one thing planned for today and that’s to climb a well known peak in the area. After breakfast I head back into town from my freedom campsite. I needed to stock up on supplies and rehydrate the van with fuel, $2.18 a litre, nearly .50c more a litre than back in Tauranga where I started my road trip. No wonder everyone has a flash house around here. Then as I thought I might as well donate some more money to the local café, I went and had a coffee while writing yesterdays blog.

20170317_130945

By now it was nearly lunchtime, time to get out of town and head for the hills. Today the plan is to head up Roys peak. It’s a well known climb in the area. Just 6km out of Wanaka is the start of the track. The estimated time to do it is 5-6 hours return, all up hill, 1.2km elevation, with not many flat sections, but the summit gives you amazing views down Lake Wanaka and the surrounding mountain ranges. Just check the weather before you go, it can change very quickly in NZ and you want to get a reward of the view, after doing the hard climb.

DCIM101GOPROGOPR1452.JPG

I powered on up, taking a few shortcuts that people had made on the lower section but paid for it about halfway up, getting blisters on both of my heels. Starting off in farm land then later getting into a bit more of the baron tussock landscape, the views are stunning the whole way up, looking back at the town of Wanaka. I manage to react Roys Peak in just over 1.5 hours but I was feeling the legs burn in the last section. At the summit, you now get 200 degree views, from Wanaka township , over the lake Wanaka, a small glimpse of Lake Hawea and now out to Treble cone and Mount Aspiring. Theres a que to get out to the point to get the iconic view photo, but it has to be done so I wait in line as many selfie kings and queens take the stage on the point. A quick couple of photos and I was out of there.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I stay up the top for quite a while, taking photos and trying to gain a bit of energy for the decent. The walk back down was obviously a lot easier but I know im going to pay for this climb in the next few days as I can already feel the legs crying out. Once back at the carpark im pretty stuffed so I head to the camp ground just around the corner and check in for the night. Glendhu Bay Motor camp is quite a large camp right on the edge of the lake, with hundreds of sites and a lot cheaper than the others in town. I whip up a quick dinner then straight to bed.

Leave a Reply

